Ah Fr Hunwicke, a man after my own heart

I love this.  Read it all though:

 

A few weeks ago I was putting together a talk on ‘Modern Biblical Scholarship’, that tired old construct of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. I decided to formulate my critique exclusively through the insights of writers who were Anglicans or who, if they became Catholics, had been Anglicans when they wrote. I gathered together R A Knox, C S Lewis, Dorothy L Sayers, E L Mascall. (I think I also mentioned Austin Farrer and Abbot Butler; and that towering champion of Catholic Truth E B Pusey and some of his contemporaries.) I found in these writers a coherent critique, although I discern no links of indebtedness between them. They wrote, not as members of the cosy self-referencing and self-affirming club of European or North American Protestant “Biblical Scholars”, but as people trained in literary criticism (in Mascall’s case, Mathematics and Logic!) who brought their own rather different skills to the task of exposing the non-existence of the Emperor’s Clothes, aka “the assured results of modern scholarship”. “That”, I triumphantly concluded my talk, “is the contribution which the Ordinariate is called by God to make”.

A similar methodology could be extracted from Dix, Jalland and Mascall for expounding the Petrine Ministry; from Dix, Ratcliff, Willis, Moreton for critiquing “Modern Liturgical Scholarship”. In so many cases, the Anglican input would have the result of questioning assumptions which some more recent “Catholic” “Scholarship” has gullibly borrowed from necrophiliac Protestant Modernism.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

