Hilarious post from Fr. Hunwicke

This reminds me of all the hurdles we had to jump through to get into the Catholic Church.  In other words, we had to believe everything the Catholic Church teaches as revealed to be true, and sign on the dotted line to that effect.  Fr. Hunwicke writes, heh heh heh.

When the first wave of Anglican priests was in preparation to be admitted to the presbyterate of the Ordinariate, we all had to go, one by one, to a Church-run centre in Manchester for ‘psychometric’ evaluation.

During one of my interviews, the clergyman interviewing me asked whether there was any part of the Church’s teaching that I had difficulty with. Bishop Newton had very strongly advised us all to be totally honest, so I said “Well, there is something. I have no trouble accepting it theoretically, but I do have problems internalising it, feeling it. To tell you the truth, I feel a little embarrassed mentioning this … ”

“Out with it”, he invited, looking interested. So I explained.

“Particularly when I’m in a big, bustling crowd, I look at all those faces, all apparently with their own preoccupations, everybody pushing everybody else, and I get Big Doubts. I wonder if it really can be true that God has an individual and salvific and interlocking plan for each and every one of them. I know, intellectually, that He does … but …. well ….. particularly in the London rush hour ……”

“No no no”, he replied, perhaps a trifle impatiently. All interest had now faded from his face. “I meant Sex”.

It became clear that the process of ‘evaluation’ had little interest in grilling us to check that we were not closet Monothelites, or a bit dodgy on the question of Usury, but a great concern about our complete conformity to the Church’s official teaching on all matters sexual.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hilarious post from Fr. Hunwicke

  1. FrPhillips says:

    Fr Hunwicke is an international treasure!

Leave a Reply

