Happy St. Patrick’s Day

Oh how I hope the significance of St. Patrick is revived.  And it’s not through drinking green beer, wearing a funny hat or lining up in March weather to get into a bar today.   Yes, I remember driving home from work one day through parts of downtown Ottawa, where it can be cold in March, astonished to see lines of people queuing up to get into bars.  All of our Christian holy days have been debased—whether its the fat red-suited Santa Claus and his elves; or chocolate Easter bunnies or leprechauns and shamrocks on St. Patrick’s Day.  It’s time to invoke the real Saint Patrick’s intercession for us.

Fr. Dwight Longenecker shares some insight into what it means when people say St. Patrick drove the snakes out of Ireland.  He starts with sharing a dream he once had:

In my dream I was in an old English country house and there was a beautiful woman there, sitting in contemplation. When I asked who she was the answer came, “She is the Lady of the House”

At first I thought she was simply an aristocratic Englishwoman, but then I heard the servants say, “She is Our Lady.”

In my dream I left the house and went outside and there before me was a low, slow English river. A group of boys were playing by the riverside, about to jump in and go swimming.

I saw on boy dive in and allow himself to be taken by the current.

To my horror I saw around the bend in the river a huge crocodile waiting for the boy–who was completely oblivious to the danger.

I ran up and down the river bank trying to warn him but it was too late.

The crocodile already had him in his jaws.

At that moment from upstream came a burly man all dressed in green country walking clothes–a waxed jacket, green rubber boots and dark green corduroy trousers. He had a full beard and a booming voice like the actor Brian Blessed. He was surrounded by a pack of children–like boy scouts and girl scouts out on a hike.

I called to him for help and he said, “I’m Patrick. What can I do to help?”

When I pointed out the lad being devoured by the reptile he called out to the crocodile to drop the boy.

Then he jumped in and pulled the boy to safety. When I looked up I saw that the woman from the house had come out and was quietly watching the whole scene with a benevolent look of approval.

I understood then, that the boy had been swallowed by the serpent, the reptile, the devil. Patrick was an exorcist who was able to deliver the boy from the jaws of death.

Suddenly, through this dream, I understood the real importance of St Patrick.

Read the whole post here.

Here’s an Anglo-Catholic rendition of St. Patrick’s Breastplate with lyrics.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy St. Patrick’s Day

  1. Macy says:

    Sanctus Patricius ora pro nobis

Leave a Reply

