A most interesting book launch and talk on King George V

IMG_20150922_195557Last night, I had the pleasure of attending Garry Toffoli’s launch of his first novel Ruritania on the Rideau, a thriller that is set in Ottawa.

Gary, a Toronto native, is a long-time friend of the Ordinariate and occasional reader of this blog.

IMG_20150922_195631

IMG_20150922_195623

Among those attending, Bill Silver., a member of our Ordinariate church here in Ottawa, Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

Arthur Bousfield, a member of Church of the Good Shepherd, the Ordinariate church in Oshawa, Ontario, also gave a marvelous talk on King George V.   I hope he publishes it and I would be happy to supply a link to any online version on this blog.

IMG_20150922_204310

Not only were the two presentations interesting and insightful, there was a great time of socializing over some prosecco and chocolate torte.  I was one of only two women in attendance, and I would say all the men wore jackets and ties for the occasion.  That was quite splendid, since I find it rare these days men or women get dressed up in the least for either church or evening gatherings.   A very interesting group of people.  Glad I was invited to attend.

I understand there was a review posted at the Facebook page of the Oshawa Ordinariate but I can’t find it.  Maybe someone can post a link in the comments section?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A most interesting book launch and talk on King George V

  1. Paul Nicholls ofs says:

    Yes, Deborah, I did post it on the Oshawa Ordinariate FB Page, but I am trying to find it myself. By the way, the information, on this page is gleaned from all 3 Ordinariates as well as various Catholic sources of information. So, the name, Oshawa Ordinariate is a bit of a misnomer. A bit of a mish mosh, but I am trying to keep people informed. I will post the link to your above report, so our friends in the other Ordinariates may link into your blog (those who are not aware of your blog, though I am sure many am). Happy Feast Day of Our Lady of Walsingham to you.

  2. I do vaguely recall concealing my face when I saw a camera floating around there!

Leave a Reply

